By default, the profiles you add to UCare don’t have access to UCare; this default helps ensure the privacy of people’s information.
To grant someone access, find their profile, tap the Access menu, then Edit access.
💡 Tip: When your UCare account was first created, a Users group was created to see all people with UCare access. You can use the Reports tab of this Group to view the various access levels of all your users.
💡 Tip: You can’t change your access; an admin must do that. Only a super admin can change another super admin’s access.
💡 Tip: If you have admin permission, you can tap the Access menu and View latest activity to view everything the person has been doing on UCare.
The access section will let you choose the permissions you want to grant to a person and the email to use for signing in. If you give them SMS permission, you should also specify the mobile number from which they can send SMS messages. You can leave the Send SMS From field blank if you don’t want them to send from their personal mobile number, i.e., you want their message to come from another person’s number.
When you tap Save, UCare will send an email to the person allowing them to sign in and set their password securely. If you change the sign-in email for a person who already has access to UCare, an email is sent to notify the person of the change.
💡 Tip: The sign-in email must be unique to each person; you can’t use the same email when granting access to others.
💡 Tip: If a person ever forgets their password, they can tap Forgot password on the sign-in page to send an email, allowing them to reset their password. Alternatively, tap the Access menu, then tap Send password reset email.
💡 Tip: To remove someone’s access, tap the Access menu, then Remove access.
Group & meetings: This permission is for small group leaders who need to access their group members’ information. They can only see groups they own and members of those groups. If small group leaders don’t need to access this info, then simply set their small group meeting to send them an attendance reminder email; they don’t need to be able to sign in to submit attendance.
With this permission, the person will also be able to view people assigned to them in a Process, but when they view the process, they won’t see all the people in the process; they only see the people assigned to them.
People & households: This will give a person access to all people and households that are either unrestricted or restricted to a security area to which they have been granted permission. They can also add, edit, or delete people and households.
Events: This will give a person access to all events and bookings that are unrestricted or restricted to a security area to which they have been granted permission. They can also add, edit, or delete events and bookings.
Forms & processes: This will give a person access to all forms and processes that are unrestricted or restricted to a security area to which they have been granted permission. They can also add, edit, or delete forms and processes.
Payments & stores: This will give a person access to all payments and stores that are either unrestricted or restricted to a security area to which they have been granted permission. They can also add, edit, or delete payments and stores.
Services: This will give a person access to all the services that are either unrestricted or restricted to a security area to which they have been granted permission. They will also be able to add, edit, or delete Services.
Teams: This will give a person access to all the teams that are unrestricted or restricted to a security area to which they have been granted permission. They will also be able to add, edit, or delete Teams.
Access Check-in: With this option, people with Group & meetings access can also access the Check-in. This option can’t be disabled for people with People & Households access.
Create email messages: This will give a person access to creating email messages, but they will need to ask someone else to review and send the email message.
Send and approve email messages: This will give a person access to creating and sending them; they can also send email messages created by others.
Send SMS messages: This will give a person access to sending SMS messages.
Use SMS Sender Ids: If you have custom SMS sender Ids, then this option allows the person to use those Sender Ids.
View all reports: This will give a person access to group attendance and membership reports, including graphs on the dashboard.
Create types: Types are used throughout UCare for categorizing and custom fields. For example, Groups, Events, Forms, Processes, Services, Important Dates, More info, and meeting Stats all use types. This option is enabled by default, but you can disable it to stop people from creating new types in UCare.
Security areas: While a person with access can view items that aren’t restricted, you can also give them access to things restricted to specific security areas. For example, you could grant Protected permission so a person serving with the Pastoral Care team can view and add notes restricted to Pastoral Care. See below for more info about security areas.
Security area admin: This will give a person permission to grant others access and give permission to the security areas they can access.
Super admin: This will give a person access to everything, and they can also grant access to anything. Super admin is a powerful permission level, so it should only be issued to trusted people to see sensitive information.
When a person receives a welcome email, they tap on Sign in to UCare, which takes them to the welcome page. They can simply pick their time zone and password and tap Continue.
If SMS is enabled and they have SMS permission, they must also enter a code. The code will be SMSed to the mobile number entered when giving them access. Usually, this is quick, but the code can take up to 30 seconds to arrive.
💡 Tip: If the SMS is not arriving, check that you have SMS credit in your Clickatell account.
💡 Tip: If a person doesn’t receive their welcome email, tap the Access menu on their profile, then tap Resend welcome email.
Security areas are a flexible way to restrict access to information saved on UCare.
New UCare accounts have two security areas added, Default and Protected. You can rename these if needed or create new security areas.
For example, you could create an Executive area so senior leadership can have a private place to keep information on UCare, or you could create a security area for each of your church’s campus locations.
💡 Tip: If a person isn’t a super admin and doesn’t have access to a security area, they won’t even know it exists. So if you add a security area called “Super-secret counseling notes,” then you don’t have to worry about your team seeing that and being worried about what notes you are keeping about them.
💡 Tip: In many places in UCare, you will see the phrase “Restrict access,” this is an indicator that you can restrict who has access to the info. If you uncheck all the security areas, the information is not restricted, and anyone with access can view it.
💡 Tip: If an item or detail is restricted, it will have a lock icon next to it. Hover, or tap this icon to view which security areas are needed to view that info.